How to install custom Plugins SDK

I am pretty new to this, so bear with me please. :woozy_face:

I am trying to make a plugin and as a test have just downloaded the plugin sdk and build the example plugin. This gave me a .o and a .so file. I just assumed I just have to put the .so fille in the plugins folder in appdata, but that didn’t seem to work.

I heared from some people that the SDK only works on the 32bit version of ts3, if that is true, how could I make it into a 64bit compatible version?

So, a few things:
The naming is a bit confusing, but there are two SDKs. First there is the TeamSpeak SDK. This is used to build custom client and servers, e.g. as a in-game voice chat integration. Secondly there is the TeamSpeak 3 Client Plugin SDK. This can be used to create plugins for the TeamSpeak 3 client.

On Windows a compiled plugin needs to be a .dll file, on Linux an .so file, and on MacOS a .dylib file. You can get those either by cross-compiling or compiling on the respective OS directly.

The plugin SDK does not dictate the architecture. Whether you compile a 32-bit or a 64-bit binary only depends on the compiler configuration. For a 64-bit TeamSpeak client, the plugin needs to be 64-bit as well, same goes for 32-bit.

Personally, I highly recommend using build tools, like CMake. Though, that might be overkill for smallish projects if you are not yet familiar.

2 Likes

Thanks, works fine. I used the MakeFile in the plugin SDK, but that only produces .so libraries. CMakeLists.txt with

cmake_minimum_required(VERSION 3.0)
project(MyPluginProject)

# Set C standard
set(CMAKE_C_STANDARD 99)

# Include directories
include_directories(include)

# Source files
set(SOURCE_FILES
    src/plugin.c
)

# Add executable or library
add_library(MyPlugin SHARED ${SOURCE_FILES})

# Specify include directory for the library
target_include_directories(MyPlugin PUBLIC ${CMAKE_CURRENT_SOURCE_DIR}/include)

works. :slight_smile: