TeamSpeak 5 - plans 2024?

Hello TeamSpeak Staff,
we would be glad after years of TS5 developing if you would be honest with us. One year ago you posted that goal for 2023 is screenshare, and there were not many updates. I’m afraid that you will post one day that you will stop developing TeamSpeak. And don’t get me wrong, I’m huge fan of TS and I’ve been using it for more than 15 years.

What’s the situation around TS5 project? I was happy when there was priority list with suggestions, but everything disappeared and staff doesn’t answer about new features.

I hope that you have resources and this project will be back on track.

All the best to the staff & community in 2024!

15 Likes

Unfortunately I don’t think there’s going to be much progress made in 2024 either. The TS5 client so far seems to be just a reskin of TS3 with not really any additional features. Made to look like discord just without any of its functionality. As you said, absolutely no comments on the dev side about the progress of screenshare doesn’t really give me too much hope either. And it’s really a shame, they could re-capture a good chunk of the market if they would offer a bit of what makes discord so successful: Text-only channels with a solid chat functionality, screenshare and a solid and easy to use bot integration. This combined with the superior audio quality of TS and the fact that it can be self hosted would surely convince many who are concerned about privacy to switch from discord. But sadly it seems that the people behind TeamSpeak are either oblivious to that or incapable of doing so. Well for now I guess there’s not much more for a lot of us than just to wait and see, maybe they have a massive surprise up their sleeves. I wouldn’t count on it though.

8 Likes

What about the promises of 2022/2023? Will there be a screen sharing feature?

What about the TS Chat app, will it be reinstated or discontinued?

What does the future of TeamSpeak look like?